Monthly Archives: March 2012

Windsor Township veteran pens gritty Vietnam novel

By SUSAN JENNINGS For the Daily Record/Sunday News For Retired Navy Chief Petty Officer Roger Lynch, news about the worsening situation in Afghanistan is a little like déjà vu. Forty-three years ago, he was landing in Vietnam just as that … Continue reading

Posted in Book discussion, Local author, Memoir, War | Tagged , , , , , , , , | 9 Comments

Author Robert Knight to debut ‘Writing Public Prose’

Robert M. Knight will debut his  book, “Writing Public Prose: How to Write Clearly, Crisply, and Concisely,” 4 p.m. April 6 at 17 on the Square in Gettysburg. Knight will read from the book reading and sign copies 11 a.m. … Continue reading

Posted in Author visit, Book signings, For writers, Local author | Tagged , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Get ready for ‘Game of Thrones’ season 2 with books, comic

For fans of Lord of the Rings, “The Hobbit” seems so far away (Release date set for December.)  Not so fast, fantasy lovers! “A Game of Thrones” is the first book in a series titled “A Song of Ice and … Continue reading

Posted in Book review, Comic books, Graphic novels, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

York Book and Paper Fair adds new exhibitor

York Book and Paper Fair, Spring 2011   As the longest-running event of its kind in Pennsylvania, there’s a lot to like about the twice-annual York Book and Paper Fair. This year, there’s even more to enjoy: For its 57th … Continue reading

Posted in Book news, Book sales, Civil War books, Fiction, Literature, Local history, Nonfiction | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Comic Book Wednesday: ‘Saga’

If you want a comic of epic proportions, the new “Saga” is one for your list. The storyline should be the most obvious choice for the assessment, but the writer, Brian K. Vaughan, and the art blasts this comic into … Continue reading

Posted in Book review, Comic Book Wednesday, Comic books | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

‘Hunger Games’ worth the hype?

I know what you’re thinking, no movie based off a book is as great as the book was. But it was still easy to get swept away in the pre-premiere hype that was everything about “The Hunger Games.” And from … Continue reading

Posted in At the movies, Best-sellers, Books made into movies, Recommended, Teen books | Tagged | 2 Comments

‘Following Atticus’ by Tom Ryan

I am not a dog person, but I found this book delightful. Tom Ryan talks about his hikes through the White Mountains of New Hampshire with his miniature schnauzer, Atticus M. Finch. The dog knows to follow the trail, trots … Continue reading

Posted in Book review, For kids, For parents, Inspirational reading, Memoir, Nature, Nonfiction, Recommended | 1 Comment

Kinky romance ‘Fifty Shades of Grey’ gets movie deal

There’s been a lot of buzz about E.L. James’ recently released “Fifty Shades of Grey.” The first in a trilogy, it’s become a book club favorite among women — despite its themes of domination and bondage. Now, the Associated Press … Continue reading

Posted in Best-sellers, Book news, Book review, Fiction, Romance novels | Tagged , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Dillsburg’s Nancy Marcinik to hold book signing

Dillsburg resident Nancy Marcinik will sign copies of her book, “Seeking Jesus in Spite of Yourself: Overcoming Abuse, Divorce, an Affair, and Loss of Faith,” from 6 to 8 p.m. March 31 at Warm Hearts Cafe, 25 E. Main St., … Continue reading

Posted in Author visit, Book signings, Book stores, Inspirational reading, Local author, Religion, Self-help | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Series Sunday: ‘Betrayed’

Many books in my book queue are waiting to be read, and a common theme among is that they’re all part of a series, trilogy or saga. Each Sunday, I’ll share a book from a series. You can read along … Continue reading

Posted in Book review, E-books, Fantasy, Fiction, P.C. Cast and Kristen Cast, Series Sunday | 2 Comments