Revs lose another pitcher

For the second time this week, a major league organization has plucked a reliever from the York Revolution’s pitching staff.
The Boston Red Sox purchased the contract of right-handed reliever Jeff Farnsworth before Saturday’s game, assigning the former major leaguer to Triple-A Pawtucket.
Earlier this week, the Milwaukee Brewers purchased the contract of closer Franklin Nunez.


Farnsworth went 3-2 with one save in 40 innings for the Revs. He struck out 45 and walked 22.
The free-spirited Farnsworth hadn’t appeared in a game since Monday, suffering from an illness that kept him away from the park for a game this week.
Farnsworth appeared in 44 games for the Detroit Tigers in 2002. And he played for the White Sox Triple-A affiliate last season.
Farnsworth kept the Revs on their toes this season, throwing small fireworks at his teammates during and after July 4. Standing in the makeshift clubhouse area beyond right field, Farnsworth would reach into his sliding shorts and pull out a firework, lighting it before he threw it at unassuming teammates. Farnsworth also prepared to pitch early in the game by warming up without a ball. But he also was a valuable veteran on the pitching staff who taught spot starter Byron Batson a new release point for his slider.

About Jim Seip

Jim Seip has been posting podcasts with Frank Bodani for years. He deserves a trophy.
This entry was posted in York Revolution. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Revs lose another pitcher

  1. Dick Julian says:

    Saturday night’s Revs victory over the Bluefish was a wonderful end to a great pitchers’ battle. The walk-off hit that ended it in the last of the ninth was Justin Singleton’s smash to deep center that knocked in the winning runner from second base to home plate. The next day the headline, the game commentary and the box score all labeled Singleton’s hit as a double. There’s a good possibility that the hit would have been a double if it hadn’t ended the game. But the game ended as soon as the first runner crossed the plate. By this time I wasn’t sure exactly where Singleton was. I thought he’d be credited with a single. This wasn’t a ground rule double. Can anyone explain why it was called a double rather than a single?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>