Major Awards

The following are some of the awards and recognitions received by the newsroom of the York Daily Record/Sunday News and its affiliated digital products in the past 20 years:

- Pennsylvania’s Newspaper of the Year Award (Pennsylvania Newspaper Association): 2001 (second place tie), 2003 (second place), 2004 (first place), 2011 (first place).

- Sweepstakes Award from the Pennsylvania Society of Newspaper Editors (for the most points in a circulation division in the annual Keystone Press Awards): 1990, 1993 (tie), 1995, 1996, 1998 (tie), 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2012.

- PNA Foundation Public Service Award: 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2007, 2009, 2010 and 2011.

- Pennsylvania Newspaper Association’s G. Richard Dew Award for Journalistic Service (PNA’s highest honor): 1991, 1995, 1998, 2001, 2005, 2008, 2009, 2011.

- Pennsylvania Newspaper Association’s Readership Initiative Award recognizes Pennsylvania newspapers that accept and create a community of readers through innovative initiatives: 2006 (first place), 2007 (second place), 2008 (first place), 2009 (second place), 2010 (first place), 2011 (first place), 2012 (first place), 2013 (first place).

- American Society of Newspaper Editors: 2011, finalist in the competition for online storytelling. Jason Plotkin’s Darisabel project.

- The Mid-Atlantic Emmy for Jason Plotkin’s “Carrying Darisabel” project, 2011. This Emmy is the first Mid-Atlantic Emmy for a newspaper-based organization competing directly against TV news organizations.

- The Editor & Publisher’s EPPY Award in the category of Best Enterprise/Investigative Video, honoring the Best Media-Affiliated Websites (competed in division for sites with 250,000 to 1 million unique monthly visitors) for Jason Plotkin’s documentary, “Carrying Darisabel.”

- Keystone Press Specialty Awards: Distinguished Writing – Daily 2011 – Mike Argento (first place); Distinguished Writing – Daily, Ivey DeJesus (late 1990s); Distinguished Writing – Daily, Mike Argento (late 1990s).

- Paul Vathis award, Pennsylvania Associated Press Managing Editors, 2011: Bil Bowden.

- Newspaper Excellence in Cyberspace Awards:
- Best Application of Social Networking 2011 (second place).
- Best Online Campaign 2011 (first place)

- John V.R. Bull Freedom of Information Award (Pennsylvania Society of Newspaper Editors): 2002, 2003, 2005, 2008, 2012, 2013 and 2014.

- Best of Show (Newswriting) and Public Service awards, Pennsylvania Associated Press Managing Editors: 2002 (for York Riots)

- Best of Show (Photography), Pennsylvania Associated Press Managing Editors: 1989 and 1994.

- Scripps Howard Foundation National Journalism Award: Public Service Report (tie) 2001 (for York riots).

- Robert F. Kennedy Journalism Award: 2001, for “Paper Shield.”

- Casey Medal for Meritorious Journalism: 2001, for “Paper Shield.”

- Pennsylvania Newspaper Foundation John Fisher Internet Vision Award, 2010, James McClure recipient.

- Pennsylvania Newspaper Foundation Benjamin Franklin Award for Excellence: 2002, Dennis Hetzel recipient; 2013, James McClure recipient.

- Paul Tobenkin Memorial Award for Print Honorees

- Thurgood Marshall Journalism Award for coverage of Ray Krone’s release from death row: 2003.

- Investigative Reporters and Editors Award: 2009, finalist in the under 100,000 circulation category for reporting on Finances of Nonprofit Angel Food Ministries” – Melissa Nann Burke. Burke was also a finalist in Livingston Awards for Young Journalists competition, 2011. Burke also won Religion News Association Cassels award in 2010 and 2011.

- National Society of Newspaper Columnist competition, under 100,000 circulation category, Finalist: Mike Argento, 2011.

- Society for Features Journalism, 23rd Annual Excellence-in-Features Writing Competition, up to 90,000 circulation category.

- Honorable Mention for the 2013 Dart Award, a national award for coverage of trauma, crisis and disaster - “Finding their way out,” about the lasting effects of the Red Lion school shooting in 2003.

- Scott Blanchard has been awarded honorable mention for the 2013 Mimi Award given by the Ochberg Society for Trauma Journalism.  This national competition recognizes an editor who demonstrates and advocates compassionate and ethical coverage of trauma, conflict and social injustice.

- GameTimePA Editor Lyzz Jones was honored by Editor & Publisher in its 2013 annual list of “25 Under 35″ leaders in the publishing industry.

- Finalist in Editor & Publisher’s  2013 Eppy Awards in the category of “Best Mobile Applications with under 1 million unique monthly visitors” for  GameTimePA High School Football Preview and for “Gettysburg: 150 Facts about the 150th.”

- Finalist in Editor & Publisher’s 2012 EPPY award for “Finding their way out.”

- Editor Jim McClure was the 2013 winner of the Benjamin Franklin Award for Excellence. This prestigious statewide award is given out by the Pennsylvania Newsmedia Association. The award recognizes an individual who has given outstanding service and accomplishments to his newspaper, to the newspaper industry and to his local community.

- April Trotter was named among Editor & Publisher’s “25 Under 35″ list in March 2014.

- The York Daily Record was recognized for excellence in Editor & Publisher magazine.  The March 2014 issue features the YDR as one of “Ten That Do It Right.”

- Buffy Andrews was named one of the York YWCA’s “25 Extraordinary Women of York County.”


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>