Up for auction: One historic 14-room Adams County home built in 1760

yorksprings

ThisĀ  14-room 1760 home near York Springs, Pa., formerly housed overflow lodgers from York Springs Hotel, the resort that gave the town its name. The 11.86-acre estate is up for auction on Aug. 24. Harry and June Seifert, founders of Winter Garden Salad Company in New Oxford bought the farmhouse in 1970 and began restoring it, according to the Hanover Evening Sun. (See additional photo below). (Update: The estate sold for $335,000). Also of interest: The American hobo came to York Springs.

York Springs’ name make it one of the region’s most misunderstood towns.

It’s not a suburb of York.

It’s not even in York County.

York Springs resides in eastern Adams County.

It gets its name – its last name at least – from the popular 19th-century resort that attract visitors from miles around, from states north and south.

That resort no longer exists, but the town is nestled in one of the region’s most beautiful areas.

A day trip in the making. For details, check out the Ye Olde Sulphur Spa Historical Society’s website.
farmhouseIn addition to the 1760 farmhouse, the Seifert property houses a barn and several relocated buildings – Latimore Township election hall, a replica general store, a log cabin and a one-room schoolhouse from York County. This covered bridge crosses Bermudian Creek. Also of interest: York Springs is a town in change, but what’s new?

About Jim McClure

Editor of the York Daily Record/Sunday News, ydr.com and its many digital products. East Region Editor, Digital First Media. Journalism/history blogger: yorktownsquare.com. Author or co-author of seven York County, Pa., history books.
This entry was posted in Archives, all posts, Events, Explanations/controversy, Farms & fields, For photo fans, Local journalism & Web, Local landmarks, Longtime York families, People, Small-town life, Unsung/obscure sites and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Up for auction: One historic 14-room Adams County home built in 1760

  1. Judy Fry says:

    What a wonderful story after so many historic buildings in both Lancaster and York county’s meeting the wrecking ball. Blessings to the new owner and may they experience the wonder of it all. Will be looking forward to hearing the plans for the site.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>