Tag Archives: Biesecker Mill

Thomasville-area’s Biesecker’s Mill: ‘It’s a unique property, but evidently it’s so unique that no bank will touch it’

Biesecker’s Mill is one of the most architecturally interesting mills standing in York County, Pa., today. An adaptive reuse plan to convert it into apartments is in limbo, though. ‘It’s a unique property, but evidently it’s so unique that no bank will touch it. So we’re kind of stuck here,’ owner Eric Bickleman told the York Daily Record. The rangy, pre-Civil War mill measures in at 17,000-square-feet. So with its future unclear (a GoFundMe site is set up), we’ll look at its past. The book ‘Millers’ Tales’ gives these facts about the mill. Products made there in its milling days: White Lily and White Swan flour, Yorko Dog Food, Golden Corn mill. Types of milling done there: grist, saw and distillery. The Biesecker in the name comes from one of its owners, John Biesecker

Posted in Archives, all posts, Art & artists, Farms, fields & mills, For photo fans, Linked in/neat stuff, Local journalism & Web, Local landmarks, Susquehanna, waterways, Unsung/obscure sites | Tagged , , , , , , , | Comments Off on Thomasville-area’s Biesecker’s Mill: ‘It’s a unique property, but evidently it’s so unique that no bank will touch it’

Dutch Club’s story reflects changing life in York, Pa.

Linked in/Neat stuff: Yorkbloggers win preservation award/Stately Biesecker Mill interests people The Dutch Club fire this week appears to have spelled the end of a York, Pa., landmark building. The club was founded as a gathering spot for Germans in … Continue reading

Posted in Archives, all posts, Art & artists, Explanations/controversy, Farms, fields & mills, Fires & firefighters, For photo fans, J. Horace Rudy, Linked in/neat stuff, Local journalism & Web, Local landmarks, Longtime York families, Mail bag, Nostalgia & memories, People, Unsung/obscure sites | Tagged , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Where does York County’s Biesecker Road get its name?

As mills go – and York County, Pa. had a lot of them – Biesecker’s Mill was large – and no doubt enlarged over the years. York countian Dianne Bowders, who submitted this photograph to ydr.com’s Your Photos, wrote that it was built about 1843. A earlier mill sat on that footprint, powered by the Little Conewago Creek. to replace an earlier mill at this site. The building can be seen from scenic Route 234, between York and East Berlin. Dianne Bowders wrote that the Biesecker family owned and operated the mill from 1920 until 1994. Many York countian who might not be familiar with the mill know its namesake road – Biesecker Road.

Posted in Archives, all posts, Books & reading, Explanations/controversy, For photo fans, Local journalism & Web, Local landmarks, Mail bag, People, Unsung/obscure sites, York celebrities | Tagged , , , , , , , , , | Comments Off on Where does York County’s Biesecker Road get its name?

Part of York County’s past goes on the auction block

Dianne Bowders captured this scene at Biesecker Mill. Old millstones are now used as a sidewalk to the mill keeper’s house on the Biesecker Mill property in Jackson Township.  The mill will soon be remodeled into a condo project. Background … Continue reading

Posted in Archives, all posts, Books & reading, Events, Explanations/controversy, Farms, fields & mills, For photo fans, Local journalism & Web, Local landmarks, Made in York, Nostalgia & memories, People, Small-town life | Tagged , , | Comments Off on Part of York County’s past goes on the auction block